Who We Are banner image

For Immediate Release

Easterseals Awards State and Federal Officials with the 2016 Outstanding Advocate Awards

Washington, D.C., June 13, 2016

This evening, Easterseals will honor 12 Congressmen and women with its 2016 Outstanding Advocate Award during Easterseals Advocacy Summit held at the Capital Hilton in Washington, D.C. Easterseals created its Outstanding Advocate Award to honor public officials for their leadership and legislative support in improving the lives of people with disabilities.

The 2016 Outstanding Advocate Award federal winners are Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Representative G.K. Butterfield (D-NC), Representative Steve Cohen (D-TN),  Representative Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ), Representative David Price (D-NC), and Representative Mike Quigley (D-IL). State awardees are Governor Scott Walker (R-WI), State Senator Mary Caferro (D-MT), State Senator Rene Garcia (R-FL), State Senator Dorothy L. Hukill (R-FL), State Senator Holly Mitchell (D-CA), and State Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-TX).

“Our government provides an essential foundation for Easterseals’ delivery of critically important services for people with disabilities,” said Randy Rutta, president and CEO, Easterseals. “We rely on government funding so our nationwide network of 74 affiliates can provide assistance to local communities in need of services, including employment and transportation accessibility for people with disabilities, veterans and military families. We salute these 12 elected officials for their continued support and leadership.”

In 1991, Easterseals awarded its first Outstanding Advocate Award to recognize sustained efforts by elected and appointed officials that help forward Easterseals’ mission to serve people with disabilities. Every honoree has gone the extra mile in making a difference for Americans with disabilities. Each believes that people with disabilities deserve a quality education, opportunities for employment, and access to health care, affordable housing, transportation and polling places. Past winners include Senator Richard Durbin, Former Senator Edward Kennedy, Former Senator Tom Harkin, Former U.S. Representative Patrick Kennedy, Former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi and Governor John Kasich.  For more information please visit Easterseals 2016 Advocacy Summit 

About Easterseals:

For nearly 100 years, Easterseals has been the indispensable resource for people and families facing disability. Through the work we do in communities across America, Easterseals is changing the way the world defines and views disability by making profound, positive differences in people’s lives every day. Join us as we take on disability together at www.easterseals.com  

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software